VFW Post 3766 installs officers

Peter Silas Pasqua
VFW Post 3766 officers are installed Tuesday. Commander Raymond Walters leads the installation followed by Philip Guidry, Jimmy Haynes and Clarence Brimmer.

Raymond Walters was reinstalled commander of Veterans of Foreign Wars Montalbano - Sentilles Post 3766 during their annual installation of officers banquet at the post Tuesday.

"It has been an honor to serve you as commander," Walters said. "We are looking forward to another great year. It is a family connection that we have here."

The VFW Auxiliary Post 3766 also installed its officers at the banquet.

Ascension Parish Sheriff Jeff Wiley and Ascension Parish President Tommy Martinez were guest speakers at the event.

"I see a lot of good change in Donaldsonville," Wiley said. "There is a huge jail expansion. The iron is up and the cinder blocks are up and it is well under way."

Wiley also noted that the Sheriff's Office recently dedicated a training room, the "War Room," in memorial to three World War II veterans.

Martinez noted there are 10,000 WWII veterans dieing every day.

"That was probably the greatest Army ever assembled in the history of the world," Martinez said.

Montalbano - Sentilles Post 3766 officers installed in addition to Walters were senior vice commander, Philip Guidry; junior vice commander, Jay Broussard; quartermaster, Jimmy Haynes; chaplain, Raymond Carbo; adjutant, Clarence Brimmer; surgeon, Andrew LeBlanc; judge advocate, Nick Porto; third year trustee, Raymond Decareaux; second year trustee, Nolan Poirrier; first year trustee, Julien Trepagnier and post service officer, Gus Luna.

The installation of officers was performed by past state commander Richie Westbrook.

Auxiliary officers of Post 3766 installed were president, Ruby Causin; senior vice president, Mae Dugas; junior vice president, Antoinette Haynes; secretary/treasurer, Anna Lee Gautreau; chaplain, Marie Landry; conductress, Virgie LeBlanc; patriotic instructor, Emelda Jones; guard, Marie Landry; first year trustee, Joyce Naquin; second year trustee, Betty Poirrier and third year trustee, Bena Matassa.

Crystal Fonetenot, Eighth District Junior Vice President, performed the installation of officers.

Baked chicken, rice dressing and green beans were served.

Also in attendance were Donaldsonville mayor Leroy Sullivan, Ascension parish councilman Oliver Joseph, Donaldsonville city councilman Charles Brown and Reginald Francis and Donaldsonville Downtown Development executive director John Rodgers.

"The opportunity we have to live freely is because of people like you," Sullivan said.

VFW members and guests at the head table of the installation of officers.