MYAC announces new commissioners

Staff Report
Seated (L to R) Officers of MYAC 2016-17: Sgt. at Arms - Darrel Honora (DHS), Parliamentarian - Paige Joseph (Ascension Catholic), Vice-President - Katilyn Williams (DHS); President- Tamiko Stroud (DHS), Secretary/Treasurer - Whitney Baker (DHS), Social Media Director - Kerrionne Brown (DHS) and Audit Director - Nina Smith (DHS); Standing (L to R) 2016-17 Commissioners - Micah Daggs (Ascension Catholic), Jalon Chatman (DHS), Aliyah Winfrey (DHS), and Renniayah (DHS) Also pictured is Mayor Leroy Sullivan, Sr., of Donaldsonville.

Mayor Leroy J. Sullivan, Sr. announces the induction of the 2016 - 2017 Mayor's Youth Advisory Council for the City of Donaldsonville. The ceremony was held on August 23, 2016 at City Hall in Donaldsonville.

The new officers are Sgt. at Arms - Darrel Honora, Parliamentarian - Paige Joseph, Vice-President - Katilyn Williams, President- Tamiko Stroud, Secretary/Treasurer - Whitney Baker, Social Media Director - Kerrionne Brown, Audit Director - Nina Smith, Commissioners - Micah Daggs, Jalon Chatman, Aliyah Winfrey and Renniayah.

The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council aka MYAC consists of a group of young leaders from Ascension Catholic High School and Donaldsonville High School committed to making a difference in Donaldsonville. They work on issues important to youth, talk to their peers, families and neighbors about their concerns and take action to address them. MYAC Commissioners represent high school students in their schools and neighborhoods. They meet with leaders of the community like the mayor, city council members, business owners and community groups to advocate for youth.