ACHS Alumni Association inducts eight into hall

Allison B. Hudson
Paul Nizzo

2008 inductees are: “Alumnus of the year,” Paul Nizzo, Class of 1970; Carolyn Wilbert Thibaut, Class of 1944; Lenny Waguespack, Class of 1976; Joseph Montero, Class of 1953; David Daigle, Class of 1962; Diane Theriot Hebert, Class of 1975 and Leslie Loup, Class of 1978.

After completion of high school, Nizzo went on to ear a degree from Nicholls State University, majoring in Physical Education. Nizzo went on after college to return home and work as a laboratory technician for CF Industries from 1975 to the present. Nizzo currently serves as Chairman of West Ascension Recreation Service Commission and also a member of the board of directors for Ascension Catholic Bulldog Athletic Foundation. In 1976, he served as president of Donaldsonville Jaycees. His volunteer work has placed him in a league of his own, volunteering as defensive coordinator for ACHS football, head trainer for ACHS football, and helping as ACHS athletics statistician. Nizzo belongs to numerous organizations such as: Louisiana High Schools Athletic Association, Council 1089 Knights of Columbus, Ascension Catholic Men’s Club, Louisiana Sheriff’s Association, and many more. He is married to the wonderful Nancy; they have two children, and two-grandchildren.

Hebert received her bachelor’s degree from Nicholls State University in 1979, and went further to obtain a master’s degree from Louisiana State University in Education in 1984. She is employed by LeBlanc Special Services Center as a hospital/homebound teacher.

Hebert has received numerous awards, student teacher of the year 1979, teacher of the year 1988, and teacher of the year 2002.  Hebert graduated sixth in her class from ACHS in 1975. She is a member of the National Honor Society, booster club, elected vice president of CYO, and many more. She is married to Aaron Hebert, and the couple has two children, one grandchild, and another on the way. The Hebert family belong to St. John the Evangelist Church in Prairieville, where Diane teaches Bible School.

Waguespack, Class of 1976, attended LSU in Baton Rouge, with a bachelor’s of science degree in Agricultural Business. He is a member of Alpha Zeta Honorary Fraternity, and an Agribusiness Club Officer, 1980. He is currently employed by South Louisiana Sugars Cooperative in St. James, as an Assistant Manager and Chief Financial Officer. Waguespack has served in the community as a Eucharistic Minister and parishioner for ten years at St. Phillip Catholic Church, and a fourth degree member and grand knight for three years with the Knights of Columbus Council 1514. In the past, he has served on the Board of Directors for the American Sugarcane League, and the Louisiana Sugarcane Products, Inc. Also is a member of the St. James Agricultural tour committee for 11 years and the St. James Livestock Show sales committee for ten years. Waguespack is the Led Council 1514 to Columbian award and Star Council status in 2008. He has also held the title of “Outstanding Young Man of Louisiana,” 1990. He has been married for 25 years to Donna, and the couple has four children.

The luncheon will be held at Palazzo Bernardo from 12 p.m. to 3 p.m. on Oct. 19. Anyone interested in attending the champagne luncheon can purchase tickets by contacting Ascension Catholic High School at 225-473-9227.