Mayoral election, Oct. 4

Allison B. Hudson

He added that the city fails to provide adequate services to the citizens, specifically in the area of recreation and for the seniors of the community. The candidate said this would also help lower crime.

Better housing options and improvement of the city's fire insurance ratings needs more attention too, said McKinney.

Eric "Twin" Robinson, the second candidate for mayor, also added that the city could go further to address affordable housing problems.

Robinson said if elected, he would work to produce an emergency fund and stockpile critical resources to help those in need. Also, he wants to see more "adequate activities" for teenagers and young adults, and more involvement in the school system through after-school programs.

Robinson went further to say the city's image needs polishing by the next mayor, and he is ready to do so.

"I will change the image of Donaldsonville by creating a strong and effective strategic plan that will move the city in an upward direction," Robinson said.

Incumbent Mayor Sullivan responded saying, the plans are very good ideas but somewhat impractical, given the city's financial situation.

"The city is moving forward and in the right direction," Sullivan said. "Increasing of our tax base is first."

Sullivan said the City of Donaldsonville needs someone with experience. "I've shown leadership ability in spite of negative feedback from Hurricane Gustav," said Sullivan.

Plans for a multipurpose community center, which can also serve as an emergency shelter, have already crossed Sullivan's mind.

The infrastructure of roads is also amongst Sullivan's list to repair. The city repaved eight roads last year, costing $1 million.

Along with the Mayor's election on Oct. 4, is also the election for City Council members.

Raymond Aucoin, District 2 council member, and Emile John Spano, District 5 council member, are unopposed.

The candidates who must be chosen in election are:

District 1

Lauthaught Delaney Sr.

Anthony "Tony" Huey

District 3

Reginald Francis Sr.

Clarence Henry Jr.

Dianne Singleton

District 4

Charles R. Brown Sr.

Miquel J. Miles Sr.