Ascension parish early voting begins

Staff reports

Early voting for the August 28 first Party Primary election begins in Ascension parish on Saturday, August 14 and will continue on Monday, August 16 thru Saturday, August 21.  Anyone wishing to vote in this election may do so between the hours of 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m.

This is a closed party election.

Note the following:

We have a statewide US Senate race that includes the Democratic Party, Libertarian Party, and Republican Party. 

Both the Democratic Party and the Libertarian Party are OPEN to unaffiliated voters (Voters who are registered as NONE or OTHER). 

The Republican Party remains CLOSED to ONLY Republican Voters. 

Voters registered with either the Green or Reform Party are not eligible to vote in the August 28 election.

The law provides that unaffiliated voters may choose to vote in only ONE (1) recognized political party's primary election.

Meaning that they must choose to vote for the Libertarian candidate or the Democratic candidate and then given the opportunity to vote on all races for that PARTY.

Congressional District 3 will have a Republican Representative race on the ballot, which is closed to everyone except Republican voters. Only if you are registered as a Republican, you will vote in this race!

The runoff election in these primaries will be Oct. 2.  The general election is Nov. 2.

Voters are required to bring a Louisiana driver’s license, a Louisiana special identification card or some other recognized photo identification, and their voter registration card.

Early voting is conducted in the Gonzales Registrar of Voters office at 828 S Irma Blvd Room 205 and the Donaldsonville Registrar of Voters office at 300 Houmas St. in Donaldsonville. For additional information or questions, you may call the office in Gonzales at 225-621-5780 or the Donaldsonville office at 225-473-7906.

Voters may check their voter registration status and find further information on the Ascension Parish Registrar of Voters website at www.ascensionrov.comor the Secretary of State website at