Hudson nominated for Women of Excellence award

Staff reports
Allison B. Hudson

The Louisiana Legislative Women's Caucus Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for its 2011 Women of Excellence Awards. The awards recognize and honor the exemplary achievements and contributions of extraordinary Louisiana women who personify excellence in their leadership, profession, academics, community service, character and integrity.   The categories for the awards are:

·         Business

·         College Woman of Excellence (ages 18 to 25)

·         Education

·         Health & Medicine

·         High School Woman of Excellence (for graduating seniors)

·         Media & Public Relations

·         Volunteerism

Media & Public Relations:

Allison Breanna Hudson--Gatehouse Media & Donaldsonville Chief--Baton Rouge

Jacqueline "Jacqui" Vines--Cox Louisiana--Baton Rouge

Volunteerism & Civic Involvement:

LaDonna Jarden--Amerisafe--DeRidder

Pat McCallister--LeDuff--Community Against Drugs and Violence, Inc.--Baton Rouge

Mae C. McGuffery--Baton Rouge

Doris Pitre--Eunice

Mary Ann Sternberg--LSU School of Mass Communication--Baton Rouge

Faith Thomas--TXI—DeRidder

Health & Medicine:

Doreen Brasseaux--Louisiana State University, Office of Health & Medical Education--Baton Rouge

Kathryn Grigsby--Hospice of Baton Rouge--Baton Rouge

Janice L. Kishner--East Jefferson General Hospital--Metairie

B. Ronnell Nolan--The Nolan Group--Baton Rouge


Joyce Burges  Education--National Black Home Educators--Baker

Martha S. Goza--Caddo Parish School Board--Shreveport

Joyce Haynes--Louisiana Association of Educators--Baton Rouge

Phyllis Coleman Mouton--Baton Rouge Community College--Baton Rouge

College Woman of Excellence:

Sherron Phae Douglas--Southern University A & M--Stonewall

Alexie D. Gaddis--Loyola University--New Orleans

Meagan Arlette Harrison--Southern University A & M--Baton Rouge

Jennifer Senac--Southeastern Louisiana University—Madisonville


Shannon Barnes--Granting Favor Consultants, Inc.--Baker

Beverly Choppin--Wright & Percy Insurance & Bancorp South Insurance Services, Inc.--Baton Rouge

Angela Greener--West Jefferson Medical Center--Harvey

Cora "Crissie" Head--LaPorte Sehrt Romig Hand--Baton Rouge

Darlene A. Kattan--Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Louisiana--New Orleans

High School Women of Excellence:

Davannah C. Addison--Zachary High School--Zachary

Hallie Renee' Boudreaux--Northside High School--Lafayette

Sharett L. Brooks--McDonogh 35 College Preparatory School--New Orleans

Callie Champagne--Central Lafourche High School--Raceland

Kristen Ann Claxton--Zachary High School--Zachary

Caroline Marie Cobb--C. E. Byrd High School--Shreveport

Calette Corcoran--Fontainebleau High School--Mandeville

Taylor Curry--Benton High School--Benton

Elizabeth Blair Davis--Isidore Newman School--New Orleans

Halie Marisa Devillier--Pearl River High School--Pearl River

Samantha Danielle Faulkner--Dutchtown High School--Prairieville

Shelvia Maureen Gross--Dutchtown High School--Geismar

Emilie Harmeyer--Holy Savior Menard Central High School--Boyce

Jodie L. Harper--Dutchtown High School--Gonzales

Breanna Nicole Hinton--Zachary High School--Zachary

Barbara Hinyard-Broadmoor High School      Baton Rouge

Haley Elizabeth Hutchinson-Tioga High School--Marksville

Lauren Johnson--Alfred M. Barbe High School--Lake Charles

Melanie Kaltakjian--Dutchtown High School--Prairieville

Raquel Landry--McMain High School--New Orleans

Nwadiuto Lucious--Baton Rouge Magnet High School--Baton Rouge

Haley Methvin--Zachary High School--Zachary

Heather Nichole Morrissey--Sam Houston High School--Lake Charles

Micaela Nobile--Pope John Paul High School--Slidell

Mikelyn Ringe--Zachary High School--Zachary

Courtney Slugher--St. Mary's Academy--New Orleans

Lauren Olivier Spaht--South Lafourche High--Cut Off

Kayla Torry--Tioga High School--Ball

Ariel A. Turner--Zachary High School--Zachary

Alyssa Witty--Catholic High School of Pointe Coupee--Ventress

 The Women of Excellence Awards’ recipients will be announced Friday, March 25, 2011.  Awards will be presented at the LLWC Women of Excellence Awards and Scholarship Gala in Baton Rouge on Wednesday, May 11, 2011