FIRST IN PRINT: 2011 Chamber of Donaldsonville Annual Banquet held

Staff reports

The Donaldsonville area Chamber of Commerce held its annual banquet on last Wednesday evening. The guest speaker was Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne.

Chamber recognized several outstanding citizens in three different areas for their service to others.

Business of the year went to Cypress Café for its nice atmosphere and excellent cuisine. Teenager of the Year was awarded to Rebecca Sotile of Ascension Catholic High School. She was also given a scholarship to accompany her award.

Citizen of the year went to Major Donald Bailey of Donaldsonville High School. Many felt he deserved this award for his nothing less than excellence service he provides in this community.

The Chamber also announced its 2011 officers.

Marvin Gros was selected as President and Ellen Thibodaux, Vice President. Tony Savoie will serve as Treasurer.

Board of Directors are:

Vince Cataldo, Jerry Chauvin, Malcom Dugas, Sonny Graugnard, Marvin Gros, Karen Hartman, Allison B. Hudson, Dr. Devjani Lahiri, John Marchand, Sid Marchand, Barbara Ourso, George Rodeillat, Debbie Roques, Tony Savoie, and Ellen Thibodaux.