Ascension Parish NAACP awards scholarships

Staff reports

Ten seniors from the four public high schools in Ascension Parish were each awarded a $500.00 scholarship from the Ascension Parish NAACP. The students were encouraged to stay focused and work hard towards attaining their career goals. The students who received the scholarships were Dorothy Lear, Denean Kelson and Quindell Williams of Donaldsonville High School. Joy Semien, April Tasker and Shalia Wagner of Dutchtown High School. Sarah Farlough and Shamyra Williams of East Ascension High

School. Also receiving scholarships were Britton Day and Tyroneka Fowler of St. Amant High School.

“The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.”

Pictured left to right:

Robyn Penn Delaney, President (NAACP), April Tasker, Dorothy Lear, Shalia Wagner, Quindell Williams, Denean Kelson, Joy Semien, Shamyra Williams, Britton Day, Tyroneka Fowler, Sarah Farlough and Richard Brown, Vice President (NAACP)