New Orleans Saints cut down to 53-player roster

Staff reports

The New Orleans Saints announced the team has terminated the contracts of the following veteran players: TE Tory Humphrey, T George Foster, T Jordan Black, S Chris Reid, CB Trumaine McBride, CB Quincy Butler, LB Clint Ingram, RB Chris Taylor and S Pierson Prioleau.

The following players were waived: TE Tyler Lorenzen, WR Montez Billings, LB Dwight Roberson, DT Dexter Larimore, QB Sean Canfield, WR Andy Tanner, CB Terrail Lambert, LS Kyle Nelson, LB Nate Bussey, C Cecil Newton, WR Jarred Fayson, TE Michael Higgins and DT Swanson Miller.

Placed on reserve/injured: RB Patrick Cobbs, S Paul Oliver and WR Joseph Morgan.

Placed on reserve/non-football/injured list: DE Greg Romeus.

Placed on reserve/physically unable to perform list: RB Chris Ivory.

The New Orleans Saints begin regular season play on Thursday night, Sept. 8, at Green Bay against the defending Super Bowl champion Packers (7:30 p.m./NBC/Saints Radio Network).

The Saints’ roster currently stands at the NFL-mandated 53 players.