Diocese of Baton Rouge Honors Distinguished Graduates

Staff Writer
Donaldsonville Chief
Rev. Matthew C. Dupré (third from left), a 1989 graduate of Ascension Catholic High School, was honored at the Diocese of Baton Rouge Catholic Schools Distinguished Graduate Awards Dinner on January 28 at the Renaissance Hotel. Pictured with Dupré from left are: Sandy Pizzolato, Principal of Ascension Catholic Diocesan Regional School; Most Reverend Robert W. Muench, Bishop of Baton Rouge; and Dr. Melanie Verges, Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Diocese of Baton Rouge.

The Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge honored distinguished graduates from various schools in the diocese at a dinner on January 28 at the Renaissance Hotel in Baton Rouge.

Dr. Melanie Verges, Superintendent of Schools, welcomed graduates and their guests. St. Michael the Archangel High School Jazz Band, under the direction of Dr. Kevin Andry, provided music before dinner. Rev. Michael Moroney, pastor at St. Alphonsus Ligouri School, gave the opening prayer.

Most Reverend Robert W. Muench, Bishop of Baton Rouge, along with Dr. Verges and Deacon Joseph Scimeca, assistant superintendent of schools, presented an award to each honored graduate.

Distinguished Graduate Award recipients included: Rev. Matthew C. Dupre, Ascension Catholic High School; Dr. Keith A. Comeaux, Catholic High School (Baton Rouge); Samuel P. Lorio, Catholic High of Pointe Coupée; Courtney Z. Elliott, Holy Family School; Frances C. Cicet, Holy Ghost School; Charlotte N. Phillips, Mater Dolorosa School; Emily G. Zeringue, Most Blessed Sacrament School; Rev. Mark B. Beard, Our Lady of Mercy School; Sr. Helen Cahill, FMOL, Our Lady of the Lake College; Tammy S. Starnes, Redemptorist Elementary School; Howard O. Carter, Redemptorist High School; Debbie M. Lynch, Sacred Heart of Jesus School; Stacy B. Keaton, St. Aloysius School; Charles C. Gulino, St. Alphonsus Ligouri School; Charles E. Jarreau, St. Elizabeth School; Lester A. Pourciau, St. Francis Xavier School; Rick Bayhi, St. George School; Eliska A. Dumas, St. Jean Vianney School; Van J. Junot, St. John High School; Patricia B. Talbot, St. Joseph’s Academy; Courtney H. Roth, St. Joseph School; Alexis R. Williams, St. Jude the Apostle School; Melissa M. Egan, St. Louis King of France School; Dr. Steven A. Ragusa, St. Michael the Archangel High School; Kim B. Bourgeois, St. Peter Chanel School; Andrew J. Bertrand, St. Theresa of Avila School; J. Brooks Moore, St. Thomas Aquinas High School; Rev. C. Todd Lloyd, St. Thomas More School.

Also recognized were:

·2012 Diocesan and NCEA Distinguished Elementary Pastor, Rev. Michael Moroney, St. Alphonsus Ligouri Church and School

·2012 Distinguished Elementary Principal, Dr. Gerard Toups, St. Joseph School

·2012 Distinguished Elementary Teacher, Beth Sinanan, St. Theresa of Avila School

·2012 Distinguished Secondary Educator, Dr. Jason Hanks, assistant principal, Catholic High

Dr. Comeaux, a 1985 graduate of Catholic High School in Baton Rouge, addressed the more than 350 attendees on his work at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory and as Director of Flight Operations for the August 2012 landing of the Mars Curiosity Rover. He credited his Catholic education for providing a strong foundation for his achievements during his professional and personal life.

Table centerpieces were created by each school and presented to each Distinguished Graduate.