Fifth class of the Mayor's Youth Advisory Council are sworn in

Darian Graivshark
Group photo of the inducted students for the Mayor's Youth Advisory Council.

Big dreams, hard work, and dedication get you to the future that you hope to have one day.

For the 2018-2019 year, 26 students are inducted into the Mayor's Youth Advisory Council on October 9 during the Donaldsonville Council Meeting. The Commissioners are: Aaron Landry, Alyric Asberry, Antonio Buchanan, Chazz Brown, Courtney Washington, Jalen Winchester, Joel Walker, Kevin Singleton, Laura Gutierrez, L'Nysia Johnson, Madison Zeringue, Makayla Jacobs, Markez Walker, Tiana Smith, and Troy'el Comeaux.

Tamiko Garrison, the Volunteer Coordinator for MYAC, said, "We wanted to do the induction during a council meeting so these students can get an idea of what they'll be doing in the future. This is the fifth class of inductees to the MYAC."

The majority of the commissioners are first year high schoolers and is a mix between Donaldsonville High and Ascension Catholic High.

Mayor Leroy Sullivan Sr. said, "I wanted to give thanks to Tamiko, because she is a volunteer and does this on her own time. It's a blessing that she is able to do something so great for these students."

Raymond Aucoin, Councilman from District 2, helped all of the students be sworn into their positions.

"We hope and encourage your children to attend as many events as possible, because we send them to D.C. and it's important that they do the work they are supposed to be doing. Having that experience and learning respect is important for when they go on these trips, and after," Mayor Sullivan said.

Follow Darian on Twitter @dariangshark