Annual academic banquet honors Ascension Catholic students

Michael Tortorich
Matthew Lafleur receives the Robert P. Lemann Sr. Memorial Scholarship. Shown with Lafleur are Ella Lemann and Jeanne Lemann.

Due to the pandemic, Ascension Catholic High School’s annual academic banquet was held on campus Oct. 20.

In previous years, the banquet has been at Bernardo’s in the evening.

Ella Lemann and Chase Walker receive the Shawn Guillot Memorial Scholarship from Don and Peggy Guillot.

Students recognized included those earning honor roll of excellence (4.0 and above) and high honor roll (3.86 to 3.9). First-time recipients received the academic lamp, while multiple recipients received the academic bar.

Additionally, four memorial scholarships were awarded. Some family members were in attendance, while others appeared virtually via pre-recorded video messages.

Miranda Landry receives the Mark Sotile Sr. Memorial Scholarship from Becky Sotile.

Senior Miranda Landry, who is the student council secretary, received the Mark Sotile Sr. Memorial Scholarship. Sotile's wife, Becky, was in attendance to give the award. 

Ella Lemann and Chase Walker each received the Shawn E. Guillot Memorial Scholarship. Guiloot's parents, Don Guillot and Peggy Guillot, delivered the award to the students.

Brayden Duhon receives the Larry Allen Memorial Scholarship from Kathy Allen.

Senior Brayden Duhon received the Larry Allen Memorial Scholarship from Allen's wife, Kathy.

Senior Matthew Lafleur received the Robert P. Lemann Sr. Memorial Scholarship. Lemann's granddaughters, Ella Lemann and Jeanne Lemann, presented the award.

Ascension Catholic High School administrators honored award recipients during the 2020 academic banquet, held Oct. 20.

Students receiving awards during the banquet were: Emma Ball, William Bellina, Madison Capello, Madisyn Cassard, Lainie Comeaux, Justin Coupel, Keagan Davis, Celia Denham, Malorie Denham, Brayden Duhon, Jacob Dunn, Trevion Jacob, Qin Jiang, Gabrielle Johnson, Matthew Lafleur, Ella Landry, Jake Landry, Maggie Landry, Miranda Landry, Rylee Landry, Rheonna Lavigne, Ella Lemann, Jeanne Lemann, Lani Lemann, Baylor Leonard, Bryce Leonard, Mackenzie Marroy, Casey Mays, Layton Melancon, Daniel Nguyen, Tatum Nguyen, Thomas Nizzo, Cullen Nolan, Alyse Ourso, McCullen Pearce, Emily Pilley, Sarah Pizzolato, Grant Richard, Anna Schexnayder, Brennan Simoneaux, Alyssa Spohrer, Eli St. Germain, Brennan Tripode, Madison Tripode, Raegan Tripode, Matthew Truxillo, Paul “Louie” Viallon IV, and Chase Walker.