MYAC inducts 2015-16 Commissioners

Staff Writer
Donaldsonville Chief

Mayor Leroy J. Sullivan, Sr. announceD the induction of the 2015-16 Mayor's Youth Advisory Council for the City of Donaldsonville at a ceremony, held Aug. 11 at City Hall.

Seated (L to R) Officers of MYAC 2015-16:  Sgt. at Arms - Jalon Chatman (Donaldsonville); Audit Director - Jimmia Williams  (Donaldsonville); Vice-President - Katilyn Williams (Donaldsonville); President- Tamiko Stroud  (Donaldsonville); Parliamentarian - Paige Joseph (Ascension Catholic); Secretary/Treasurer - Maerys Joseph (Ascension Catholic); and Social Media Director - Lawrence Brown III  (Donaldsonville).

Standing (L to R)  2015-16 New Commissioners - Whitney Eure  (Ascension Catholic), Catherine Eure  (Ascension Catholic), Kerrrionne Brown  (Donaldsonville);  Darell Honora  (Donaldsonville), Victoria Eure  (Ascension Catholic), Nina Smith  (Donaldsonville) and Whitney Baker (Alt. Commissioner) (Donaldsonville).

The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council aka MYAC consists of a group of powerful and diverse young leaders from Ascension Catholic High School and Donaldsonville High School committed to making a difference in Donaldsonville. They work on issues important to youth, talk to their peers, families and neighbors about their concerns and take action to address them.  MYAC Commissioners represent high school students in their schools and neighborhoods. They meet with leaders of the community like the Mayor, City Council members, business owners and community groups to advocate for youth.  MYAC meetings are open to the public. MYAC’s  motto is “Young People Leading the Way to a Better Tomorrow”.