Hill named coach of the year

Staff reports

His team didn’t advance to the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s Top 28 Tournament.

But that did not keep Donaldsonville High boys basketball coach Greg Hill from claiming one of the top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A All-State teams.

State champions Riverside Academy (boys) and Winnfield (girls) took the other top honors on the squad selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Riverside’s Ricardo Gathers was voted the Most Valuable Player on the boys squad for the second straight season after leading the Rebels to their second Class 2A state title in dominant fashion. Teammate Louis Dabney joined Gathers on the boys first team.

Hill led the Tigers to a 28-4 record and No. 3 seed before being eliminated in the second round. Hill has spent 36 seasons at DHS.



Player    School    Ht.    Cl.    Avg.

First team

Breonna O’Connor    Ville Platte    5-6    So.    19.0

Derreyeal Youngblood    John Curtis    6-5    So.    13.3

Rebekah Greer    St. Thomas Aquinas    5-8    Sr.    16.7

Christina Gray    Winnfield    5-8    Sr.    11.5

Kendra Coleman    Donaldsonville    5-7    Sr.    21.3

Second team

Allison Baggett    Iota    5-9    Jr.    23.7

La’Kelia Pounds    Sterlington    5-7    Sr.    20.0

Samantha Thomas    Pickering    5-6    Fr.    16.0

Mackenzie Greene    South Beauregard    5-7    Sr.    14.0

Danisha Allison    Oakdale    5-10    Sr.    24.8

Most Valuable Player: Christina Gray, Winnfield

Coach Of The Year: Patrece Carter, Winnfield

Honorable mention: Whitney Gathright, John Curtis; Bianca Harvey, Donaldsonville; Christina Navarra, St. Thomas Aquinas; Joslyn Allen, Lake Providence; Kesha Toston, Lake Providence; Carlee Reeves, East Beauregard; Jenna Lee, South Beauregard; Kayla Mollere, Donaldsonville; Tashana Triplett, Winnfield.


Player    School    Ht.    Cl.    Avg.

First team

Ricardo Gathers    Riverside Academy    6-8    Jr.    20.5

Brian Bridgewater    Episcopal    6-5    So.    23.7

Louis Dabney    Riverside Academy    6-4    Jr.    17.3

Zaveral Jackson    St. Thomas Aquinas    6-1    Sr.    18.2

John Isaac    Pickering    6-4    Sr.    22.0

Second team

Shannon Knighten    Farmerville    6-3    Sr.    17.5

James Morse    Evangel Christian    6-0    Sr.    17.2

Chase Stanley    University    6-1    Sr.    27.3

Cody Jones    Ville Platte    6-0    Jr.    16.2

Gilbert McGregor    Lusher    6-4    Sr.    21.3

Most Valuable Player: Ricardo Gathers, Riverside Academy

Coach Of The Year: Greg Hill, Donaldsonville

Honorable mention: T.J. Carpenter, Lakeside; Cameron Monroe, Evangel Christian; Lorenzo Collins, Donaldsonville; Malik Morgan, John Curtis; Xavius Larry, Farmerville; Matthew Allred, Sterlington; Lance Richard, Sterlington; Justin Tunwar, Kinder; Julius Jackson, Rosepine; Matt Moss, Anacoco; Anthony Davis, Pickering; Donald Thomas, Riverside Academy; Zelvin Smith, Riverside Academy; Kevin Cottonham, Jonesboro-Hodge; Alonzo Moore, Winnfield; Ricardo Lewis, Lakeview; Cody Scott, Springfield; Odell Beckham Jr., Newman.