Destrehan, John Curtis, Ruston top LSWA Class 5A football team

Staff Report
Destrehan quarterback Jai Eugene (4) scores what would be the game-winning touchdown in the fourth quarter as the Destrehan Wildcats face the Ruston Bearcats for the  Division I non-select Louisiana High School State Championship at the Superdome on Friday, December 9, 2022.  (Photo by Michael DeMocker)

Destrehan quarterback Jai Eugene Jr. and John Curtis linebacker Justin Horne led the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State football team.

Eugene and Horne were selected by a statewide panel of sports writers as the Offensive and Defensive players of the year, respectively after each helped his school win an LHSAA state championship. Ruston’s Jerrod Baugh was voted as the Coach of the Year for reaching the state final after four straight losses in the quarterfinals. Ruston reached the state final for the first time since 1998.

Eugene was selected to the team as an athlete and completed 95 of 155 passes for 1,898 yards with 23 touchdowns and three interceptions. He rushed 93 times for 724 yards and 13 scores. He scored the winning touchdown on a 29-yard run in the fourth quarter as Destrehan defeated Ruston 17-10 in the Division I Non-Select state final. Although a quarterback in high school, the Tulane signee projects as a defensive back in college. Eugene is among five Destrehan players selected to the team.

Horne, a Texas Tech signee, had 144 tackles, 17 for loss with 6 sacks and 3 passes defended. The District 9-5A Defensive MVP showcased the same speed that helped him become a state championship hurdler in the spring.

Locally, several Ascension Parish players were represented as honorable mentions.

2022 LSWA Class 5A All-State


  • WR Pearce Russell, Benton, 6-0, 185, Sr.
  • WR Shelton Sampson Jr., Catholic, 6-4, 185, Sr.
  • WR Dkhai Joseph, East St. John, 5-11, 165, Jr.
  • OL Mason Skipper, Ruston, 6-1, 305, Sr.
  • OL Bryce Godfrey, John Curtis, 6-3, 275, Jr.
  • OL Brandon Spincer, Edna Karr, 6-2, 275, Sr.
  • OL Landry Cannon, Destrehan, 6-3, 330, Sr.
  • OL Troy Smith, St. Augustine, 6-5, 290, Sr.
  • QB Daniel Beale, Catholic, 6-2, 195, Jr.
  • RB Carldell Sirmons, Ouachita, 5-7, 158, Jr.
  • RB Jaylan White, Parkway, 5-9, 180, Sr.
  • RB Deantre Jackson, Edna Karr, 5-8, 180, Sr.
  • PK Aeron Burrell, Parkway, 6-2, 165, Jr.
  • ATH Jai Eugene Destrehan, 6-0, 190, Sr.


  • DL Christian Davis, Ruston, 6-4, 300, Sr.
  • DL Ashley Williams, Zachary, 6-4, 220, Sr.
  • DL Jonathan Bax, Edna Karr, 6-3, 230, Sr.
  • DL Brenden LeBlanc, Brother Martin, 6-1, 265, Sr.
  • LB Jadon Mayfield, Ruston, 6-0, 222, Jr.
  • LB Chauncey Lee, West Monroe, 5-9, 190, Sr.
  • LB Justin Horne, John Curtis, 6-1, 200, Sr.
  • LB Kolaj Cobbins, Destrehan, 6-3, 200, Jr.
  • DB Jordan Matthews, Woodlawn, 6-1, 185, Sr.
  • DB Kylin Jackson, Zachary, 6-3, 200, Sr.
  • DB Michael Richard, Edna Karr, 5-9, 160, Sr.
  • DB Kevin Adams, Destrehan, 5-10, 170, Sr.
  • P William Hudlow, Jesuit, 6-0, 215, Sr.
  • KR Daniel Blood, Destrehan, 6-0, 175, Sr.
  • ATH Ashton Stamps, Rummel, 6-0, 170, Sr.




Honorable mention

Drew Dronet, Sam Houston; Jamaal Levi, Barbe; Kandyn Cordova, Barbe; Jamorion Jackson, Sam Houston; Josh Colvin, Ruston; Ahmad Breaux, Ruston, Nate Johnson, Ruston; Jordan McWain, Ruston; Pierson Parent, Dutchtown; Joe Bordelon, Alexandria; Jeremiah Jeffers-Wright, Alexandria; Luke Guidry, Slidell; Aaron Jackson, Ruston; Daxton Chavez, Airline; Amyrion Mingo, Alexandria; Jaylin Johnson, Alexandria; Chantz Babineaux, Carencro; Koby Young, Holy Cross; Royal Gray, East St. John; Nate Green, West Monroe; Jacob Johnson, Catholic; Ethan Fields, Dutchtown; Roy Brackins III, Woodlawn; Noah Miller, Ouachita; Kam Robinson, Captain Shreve; B.J. Meche, Acadiana; Akicita Ardoin, Southside; Israel Jolivette, Carencro; Khayree Lee, John Ehret; Lawson Champagne, Covington; Peyton Polk, Haughton; Ean Rodrigue, Thibodaux; Jaden Osborne, Ruston; A.J. Samuel, Edna Karr; Yashua Mitchell, East St. John; Royal Falgout, John Ehret; Chantz Caesar, Carencro; Gray Walters, Benton; Ben Taylor Airline; Antonio Ford, West Ouachita; Dyson Fields, Ruston; Tyler Rhodes, Haughton; Marlon Prout, John Curtis; Torey Lambert, Brother Martin; Shane Lee, Destrehan; George Martin, East St. John; Kevan Williams, Acadiana; Aidan Corbello, Jesuit; Ashton Guilbeau, Lafayette High; Demarcus Singleton, Thibodaux; Jahiem Johnson, Hammond; AK Burrell, Dutchtown; Colin Rains, Haughton; Geordan Guidry, Ruston; Judd Rouyea, Catholic; Dylan Carpenter, St. Amant; D’Arrius Zeigler, West Monroe; Shane Payton-Hodges, St. Augustine; Brenden LeBlanc, Brother Martin; Dominic McKinley, Acadiana; Keevon George, Carencro; Charles Atkins, East Jefferson; Terrence Greene, Captain Shreve; Zheric Hill, Ruston; Brooks Brossette, Byrd; Connor Blank, Haughton; Landen Lee, Captain Shreve; Kristian Doyle, Ouachita; Dickson Agu, Dutchtown; Rylon Johnson, Brother Martin; Lucas Harrington, Southside; Bryce Blackwell, Covington; CJ Williams, West Monroe; Chaunky Lewis, Ouachita; Dashawn McBryde, Denham Springs; Bryson Jones, Southside; Corinthian Walters, Southwood; Jacob Johnson, St. Paul’s; Abram Murray, Byrd; John Chance, Captain Shreve; Will Fendley, Ruston; Russell Babineaux, Acadiana; Christian Jones, Byrd.

The Shreveport Times contributed to this report.