Meet the News-Star's All-Area boys high school basketball team for 2022

Emely Hernandez
Monroe News-Star

Here's the News-Star's all-area boys high school basketball team for the 2021-22 season. This list was put together in consultation with coaches in the area. 

Player of the year

Patrick McCraney

Neville, Sr.

Height/position: 6-1/guard

Why chosen: McCraney averaged 21.1 points, 4.2 assists, 5.6 rebounds and 3.5 steals. The Delgado CC commit made Neville basketball history with 2,165 career points, 582 rebounds, 359 assists and 345 steals. 

Coach of the year

Casey Jones


Why chosen: Jones continues to grow Wossman into a basketball dynasty. Since taking over in 2015 he has taken five Wildcat teams to the LHSAA Class 3A championship game. Despite falling short again this year, Jones said after the loss to Madison Prep that the Wildcats will be dancing again in 2023.  

Wossman coach Casey Jones (left) reacts to a call during the Class 3A finals Saturday.

More:'Don't let that feeling go away:' Wossman boys basketball's fifth straight title game loss stings

More:How Cedar Creek's Sarah Adams brings her basketball swag to the softball field

More:How J.R. Tollett has been Ruston baseball's go-to dual-threat leader

First team

Here is who joins McCraney on the first team.

Demarcus Dixon

Rayville, Sr. 

Height/position: 6-1/guard

Why chosen: Dixon averaged 18 points, three rebounds and six assists. He was key in leading Rayville to an LHSAA Class 2A semifinal appearance. 

Courtney McCarthy

Richwood, Jr.

Height/position: 6-5/guard

Why chosen: McCarthy averaged 32 points, 12 rebounds, five assists and five steals.

Braylan McNeal

Ruston, Jr.

Height/position: 6-5/forward

Why chosen: McNeal, the District 2-5A MVP, averaged 13 points, eight rebounds, three assist and two blocks. 

Albert Shell

Wossman, Sr. 

Height/position: 6-3/guard

Why chosen: Shell averaged 15 points, five assists and five rebounds to lead Wossman to the LHSAA Class 3A championship game. 

Second team

Mckennald Armstead, Neville, Sr. 

Dakota Gasca, West Monroe, Sr. 

Sterry Leonard, Ouachita, Sr.

Cameron Smith, Rayville Jr. 

Pat Williams II, Wossman, Sr. 

Emely Hernandez covers University of Louisiana-Monroe athletics and high school sports. Email her at and follow her on Twitter @emhernandeznews.