Ten Bulldogs make all-district baseball team

Kyle Riviere
Ascension Catholic pitcher Landon Clifton was named District 6-1A MVP. Photo by Kyle Riviere.

After another tremendous baseball season, the Ascension Catholic Bulldogs crowded the All-District 6-1A team. They had 10 selections—which ranked second to only St. John’s 11.

Coming off of a 2015 season that saw the Bulldogs come one run away from reaching the state semifinals, Ascension Catholic began the season with high expectations. They did their part to live up to their lofty goals by finishing the regular season 18-8.

Most importantly, the Bulldogs went a perfect 10-0 in district play en route to taking home a league championship.

With such an accomplishment, Ascension Catholic earned a No. 3 seeding for the playoffs. They dominated their first two postseason matchups—beating Beekman Charter and Ascension Episcopal by a combined margin of 25-1.

The two victories punched their ticket to the state quarterfinals for the third straight season. Unfortunately for the Bulldogs, the third time was not the charm. Once again, they fell short of the semifinals—this time, losing to sixth-seeded Vermillion Catholic, 6-1.

After leading his team to a district championship and third straight quarterfinal appearance, Ascension Catholic head coach Todd Landry was named the District 6-1A Coach of the Year.

As for his players, ace Landon Clifton was crowned the district’s MVP.

During the season, Coach Landry said, “[Landon Clifton] is the life blood of our team. When he’s on the mound, the kids play well behind him.”

Another Bulldog pitcher made first-team all-district in David Girior. It was Girior that came through with the huge second-round victory over Ascension Episcopal that pushed them into the quarterfinals.

Catcher Dillon Vice also made the first team, along with infielders Nick Bellina and Garrett Hales.

The Bulldogs’ final first-team selections were outfielder Collin Landry and utility players Ross Ponville and Mason Zeringue.

Infielder Willian Dunn and utility player Charlie Genaloni were both second-team selections.

First-Team All-District 6-1A:

Landon Clifton (Ascension Catholic), Andrew Gulotta (St. John), Josh Diez (Ascension Christian), David Girior (Ascension Catholic), Juwan Fitch (St. John), Dillon Vice (Ascension Catholic), Nick Bellina (Ascension Catholic), Danlicha Carter (White Castle), Landon LeBlanc (St. John), Garrett Hales (Ascension Catholic), Gavin Landry (St. John), Collin Landry (Ascension Catholic), Tre Dupont (St. John), Kvon Delore (Ascension Christian), Ross Ponville (Ascension Catholic), Mason Zeringue (Ascension Catholic), Peyton Ballinger (Ascension Christian), Dylan Hurst (St. John)

Second-Team All-District 6-1A:

Nick Montalbano (Ascension Christian), John Smothers (Southern Lab), Mason Young (St. John), Daquan Jackson (White Castle), Ben Bucher (St. John), Dylan Tempanaro (St. John), Josh Poirrier (Ascension Christian), Keenan Granger (Southern Lab), William Dunn (Ascension Catholic), Nathaniel Wicker (Southern Lab), Adam Blanchard (St. John), Brendan Tramonte (Ascension Christian), Colby Sadden (St. John), Darian Pierce (White Castle), Charlie Genaloni (Ascension Catholic), Mason Braud (Ascension Christian), Brennan Jean Pierre (Southern Lab)