Chief releases All-Parish boy's basketball teams

Kyle Riviere
Donaldsonville Chief

Many players in the parish stood out this past basketball season. These standouts helped lead their teams to very successful years.

Now, it’s time to honor those players with the Donaldsonville Chief's All-Parish boy's basketball team.

For boy's basketball in Ascension Parish, East Ascension had the best season as they went 22-8 during the regular season, finished as District 5-5A runner up and reached the second round of the playoffs.

Their first-round victory over Parkway continued their streak of five straight seasons with at least one postseason win. In the second round, they lost a very tight game against eventual state runner-up Bonnabel.

Rival St. Amant went 21-10 during the regular season and reached the postseason, but they were unable to make it past the opening round.

Both Donaldsonville and Ascension Catholic also had their journeys end in round one.

The Bulldogs had one of their strongest regular seasons in recent memory as they finished with a 17-13 record. Eight of their 13 losses came against upper-classification schools.

Donaldsonville had a bit of an up-and-down year. They finished the regular season with a 15-15 mark. In the opening round of the playoffs, they were eliminated by highly-seeded Sophie B. Wright.

Ascension Christian and Dutchtown both missed the playoffs in 2020. The Lions finished with a 9-16 record, while Dutchtown went 7-20.

In the Donaldsonville Chief's 2020 All-Parish boy's basketball team, East Ascension and Ascension Catholic have the same most selections with four apiece. St. Amant and Donaldsonville each have three selections.

First-year East Ascension head coach Tyler Turner is the Parish Coach of the Year, and Spartan senior guard Hobert Grayson is the Parish MVP.

Here is the Donaldsonville Chief's All-Parish boys basketball team:

First Team:

G - Hobert Grayson (East Ascension)

G - Camryn Carter (East Ascension)

G - Clenard Mollere (Donaldsonville)

F - Destin Barker (St. Amant)

F - Tyrone Johnson (St. Amant)

Sixth Man - Troy Cole (Ascension Catholic)

Second Team:

G - Cameron Dunbar (East Ascension)

G - Derrick Varnado (Ascension Christian)

G - Demarco Harry (Ascension Catholic)

F - Javon Carter (East Ascension)

F - J'Mond Tapp (Ascension Catholic)

Sixth Man - Quintez Dabney (Donaldsonville)

Honorable Mention:

Troy Thomas (Dutchtown)

Tyriell North (Donaldsonville)

Demontray Harry (Ascension Catholic)

Connor Adams (St. Amant)

Ryan Bromfield (Dutchtown)

MVP - Hobert Grayson (East Ascension)

Coach of the Year - Tyler Turner (East Ascension)