Chief releases its All-Parish softball team

Kyle Riviere
Ascension Catholic's Alicia Canatella was a first-team All-Parish selection. Photo by Kyle Riviere.

With another great softball season in the books, the Donaldsonville Chief has unveiled its All-Parish team.

In 2018, five of the six Ascension Parish high schools reached the playoffs. Three of those teams won postseason games.

The team that had the most success was Ascension Catholic. The Lady Bulldogs brought home another District 6-1A championship and reached the state tournament in Sulphur for a sixth straight season.

Ascension Catholic went on to reach the state semifinals, before losing to False River.

St. Amant dominated District 5-5A once again and claimed another league championship as they went a stellar 29-2 during the regular season.

The Lady Gators won their first-round playoff game against Dutchtown, but they were upset by West Monroe in the second round, putting an end to a streak of seven straight trips to Sulphur.

East Ascension rebounded this season, improving their record from 9-22 to 18-11 and making a return to the playoffs.

The Lady Spartans upset Pineville in the opening round, but they fell short against highly-ranked Hahnville in the regional.

Dutchtown made yet another run to the postseason, but they were eliminated by parish foe St. Amant in the opening round.

Ascension Christian went 11-9 in their first regular season under head coach George Gutierrez. They moved on to the playoffs and were bounced in the first round by eventual Division-IV state runner-up False River.

Here is the Donaldsonville Chief’s Ascension All-Parish softball team:

First Team

P - Alyssa Romano (St. Amant)

P - Erin Hardy (Dutchtown)

C - Brynnen Gautreau (East Ascension)

IF - Taylor Tidwell (St. Amant)

IF - Hannah Martin (Dutchtown)

IF - Alicia Canatella (Ascension Catholic)

IF - Brooke Romano (St. Amant)

OF - Jadyn Rumfellow (St. Amant)

OF - Baylee Bourgeois (Dutchtown)

OF - Madison Hurt (St. Amant)

UTL - Kennedy Page (St. Amant)

UTL - Skylar Boyd (Dutchtown)

DH - Madison Marchand (St. Amant)

Second Team

P - Erin Nicol (East Ascension)

P - Maddie Gautreau (Ascension Christian)

C - Paige Patterson (Dutchtown)

IF - Dionne Templet (St. Amant)

IF - Rachel Ducote (East Ascension)

IF - Layla Thompson (Ascension Christian)

IF - Lauren Landry (Ascension Catholic)

OF - Jada Goodlow (East Ascension)

OF - Anna Jones (Dutchtown)

OF - Bailey Acosta (Ascension Catholic)

UTL - Grace Bagwell (East Ascension)

UTL - Kelsi Martine (St. Amant)

DH - Denae Lowe (Dutchtown)

Pitcher of the Year: Alyssa Romano (St. Amant)

MVP: Taylor Tidwell (St. Amant)

Coach of the Year: Don Henry (Ascension Catholic)